Having existed for half a century, Njonjo house, one of the 13 dormitories in Starehe Boys’ Centre and school was getting old and the infrastructure wearing out until the recent refurbishment and renovation.
The dormitory was built in 1969, 10 years after the school (Starehe Boys’ Centre and School) was established. The house was named after Charles Njonjo, the first attorney general in Kenya, as he is one of the most significant persons the school has ever had since its establishment in 1959 by Dr. Geoffrey William Griffin and the other two co-founders, Geoffrey Gatama Geturo and Joseph Kamiru Gikubu.
The refurbishment and renovation of the Njonjo house was made possible by the generous contribution of the school alumni who mostly got housed in the Njonjo house dormitory. The project was also seconded by the AJ Designs, Royal Blinds and AJ Capital. The renovation project costed about 20 million Kenyan shillings. This was greatly supported by the Al Jallah family living from the United Arab Emirates.
The grand opening of the dormitory took place on 1st February 2019 where it was done in a ceremonial event. Apart from the students and staff members, iconic and well known persons were also present. Raphael Tuju (cabinet secretary), the UAE ambassador representative, the managing director AJ designs and Royal Designs.